The Booksellers Association of the United Kingdom & Ireland Limited

James Patterson's Young Bookseller
Bestselling author and bookshop devotee, James Patterson, has announced the second James Patterson’s Young Bookseller Special Achievement Award. The award recognises young booksellers for outstanding contribution and will see forty young booksellers presented with £500 each. James Patterson is committed to bringing attention to bookshops, and he is especially concerned with encouraging young people into the industry to continue to inspire lifelong reading.

The award commends booksellers aged 30 and under who have worked in a bookshop for a minimum of 12 months. Candidates may be nominated by their managers or colleagues and nominees from all high street bookshops across Britain and Ireland will be eligible. To apply for the James Patterson's Young Bookseller Special Achievement Award, please read the full details below:
1.    Open to those employed by a business in membership of the BA, in any membership category
2.    Candidates can be full or part time
3.    Candidates should have been a bookseller for a minimum of 12 months
4.    Open to those aged 30 or under at April 30th 2020
5.    Deadline = April 30th 2020
6.    Candidates can be nominated by their manager or by a colleague (current or past)
7.    Nominations should be a citation of no more than 500 words, which should include detail of the relation of the nominator to the candidate, information on the candidate’s bookselling background, including what makes them stand out, what characteristics they have that make them a bookseller who makes a difference.  The citation can include links to articles, press or social media activity but must not exceed 500 words
8.    The nominations should be sent, with James Patterson Special Achievement Award in the subject line, to: by 30th April 2020
9.    The nominations will be considered by the James Patterson team at PRH, in consultation with James Patterson, and awards of £500 shall be given to 40 young booksellers
10.    The judges’ decision is final
11.    The awards will be announced 14th June 2020 
12.    The awards payments will be made to the booksellers by mid July 2020

The 2019 winners of the James Patterson's Young Bookseller Special Achievement Award
  • Amy Vale – Book-ish, Crickhowell, Powys
  • Callum Churchill – Topping & Company Booksellers of Bath
  • Callum McAllister – Foyles, Bristol
  • Charlotte Elizabeth – Blackwell’s Bookshops, Reading 
  • Emily Smith – Waterstones, Crewe
  • Helen Mair – The Alligator’s Mouth, Richmond, Surrey
  • Imogen Hargreaves – Mostly Books, Abingdon, Oxfordshire 
  • Inga Maciulyte – Foyles Waterloo Station, London 
  • Jacob Tunks – Kett’s Books, Wymondham, Norfolk
  • James Firth – The Stripey Badger, Skipton, North Yorkshire
  • Meg Prince – The Ironbridge Bookshop, Telford, Shropshire
  • Mia Colleran – Dubray Books, Dublin
  • Miriam Mathie – The GLO Bookshop, Motherwell, North Lanarkshire
  • Olivia Farmery – Magic Alley, Stratford-Upon-Avon, Warwickshire
  • Olivia Kekewich – The Edinburgh Bookshop, Edinburgh
  • Phoebe Edwards – Little Ripon Bookshop, North Yorkshire
  • Saoirse Behan – Woodbine Books, Kilcullen, County Kildare
  • Sarah Gillett – East Grinstead Bookshop, West Sussex
  • Taylor McDonald – Bookpoint, Dunoon, Argyll
  • Tom McKnight – The Haslemere Bookshop, Haslemere, Surrey