The Booksellers Association of the United Kingdom & Ireland Limited

Parliamentary Book Awards winners announced

PBAs 2018 winners

Tessa Jowell, Jesse Norman and Isabel Hardman have been announced as the winners of the 2018 Parliamentary Book Awards, the only political book awards curated by bookshops and voted for by parliamentarians.

Tessa Jowell and Frances D’ Souza won Best Memoir by a Parliamentarian for The Power of Politicians, which explores the late Jowell’s career as MP, Cabinet Minister and peer to examine deeper questions about the role of parliamentarians, and what makes a good politician. 

Jesse Norman took home the Best Non-Fiction by a Parliamentarian award for his book Adam Smith: What He Thought and Why it Matters, in which Norman discusses the life of economist Adam Smith, and dispels the myths that have grown around his legacy and beliefs.  

Journalist Isabel Hardman was awarded Best Political Book by a non-Parliamentarian for her book Why We Get the Wrong Politicians, in which she examines the life of an MP, and asks why the public often end up with politicians with whom they aren’t happy. 

Launched by the Booksellers Association and the Publishers Association in 2016, the annual awards champion the best of political writing and celebrate the link between politics and publishing. The shortlist was voted for by UK bookshops, with parliamentarians then voting for the winner in each category.

The awards ceremony was held at the House of Commons this evening, hosted by Dame Margaret Hodge MP and presented by Pippa Crerar, Political Editor at The Daily Mirror. 

Meryl Halls, Managing Director of the Booksellers Association, said: “This year’s shortlist was made up of a range of thought-provoking titles for Parliamentarians to choose from, and the winners reflect that, querying our political system and those working within it. With winners as topical and carefully considered as these, the Awards continue to highlight the partnership between politics and booksellers.”