The Booksellers Association of the United Kingdom & Ireland Limited

Parliamentary Book Awards winners announced



Alan Johnson, Margaret Hodge, Melvyn Bragg and John Bew have been announced as the winners of the inaugural Parliamentary Book Awards, as voted for by MPs and members of the House of Lords.
Alan Johnson won Best Memoir by a Parliamentarian for his multi-award-winning autobiography The Long Winding Road (Transworld), charting his journey from the slums of West London to Westminster.
Margaret Hodge was awarded Best Non-Fiction by a Parliamentarian for Called to Account: How Corporate Bad Behaviour and Government Waste Combine to Cost us Millions (Little, Brown), reflecting on her time as Chair of the Public Accounts Committee from 2010-2015, tasked with scrutinising the use of public money and holding the government to account for this use.
Melvyn Bragg took home Best Fiction by a Parliamentarian for Now is the Time (Sceptre), bringing the Peasants’ Revolt of 1381 to life.
John Bew won Best Political Book by a Non-Parliamentarian for Citizen Clem (Quercus), his biography of Clement Attlee, who became Labour’s unlikely post-war hero.
The Rt Hon Gisela Stuart MP, editor of the House magazine and a former bookseller, presided over the ceremony at the House of Commons. The winners were presented with their awards by The Times’s Red Box Editor, Matt Chorley.
Launched by the Booksellers Association and the Publishers Association, the Awards celebrate political writing by parliamentarians across Memoir, Non-Fiction and Fiction, and Best Political Book by a Non-Parliamentarian. The shortlist was voted for by UK bookshops, with parliamentarians voting on the winner in each category.
“The winners of tonight’s awards showcase the writing talents that exist in politics, and demonstrate the close connection between publishing and the political world. All four writers were for the first time voted on by parliamentarians themselves, who better to determine the best of the best in political writing?” Stephen Lotinga, Chief Executive of the Publishers Association
“Tonight’s winners represent the very pinnacle of political writing, curated by booksellers and voted for by MPs and Peers. Now is a moment to reflect on the sheer quality of writing in evidence, and I am sure that on a hugely enjoyable evening, the importance of books and bookshops on the high street has been illustrated yet again, and I hope, will be to a wider audience this Christmas.” Tim Godfray, Chief Executive of the Booksellers Association
The winners saw off competition from a strong shortlist that included Ken Clark’s Kind of Blue, Jeffrey Archer’s Cometh the Hour, Jeremy Paxman’s A Life in Questions and Yanis Varoufakis’ And the Weak Suffer What They Must?.

The shortlists

Best Memoir by a Parliamentarian

  • Hinterland: A Memoir by Chris Mullin
  • Kind of Blue by Ken Clarke
  • The Long and Winding Road by Alan Johnson - winner 

Best Non-Fiction by a Parliamentarian

  • Called to Account by Margaret Hodge - winner
  • Game of Spies by Paddy Ashdown
  • The Silent Deep:Royal Navy Submarine Service Since 1945 by Peter Hennessy & James Jinks

Best Fiction by a Parliamentarian

  • The Angel of Lovely Lane by Nadine Dorries
  • Cometh the Hour by Jeffrey Archer
  • Now is the Time by Melvyn Bragg - winner

Best Political Book by a non-Parliamentarian

  • A Life in Questions by Jeremy Paxman
  • And the Weak Suffer What They Must? by Yanis Varoufakis
  • Citizen Clem by John Bew - winner