The Booksellers Association of the United Kingdom & Ireland Limited

BAMB Readers Awards shortlists revealed

The shortlists:
Biography & Autobiography
Alive Alive Oh! by Diana Athill
The Invention of Nature by Andrea Wulf
The Last Act of Love by Cathy Rentzenbrink
The Road to Little Dribbling by Bill Bryson
At the Existentialist Café by Sarah Bakewell
Fingers in the Sparkle Jar by Chris Packham

One by Sarah Crossan
Beetle Boy by MG Leonard
The Bear and the Piano by David Litchfield
Day the Crayons Came Home by Drew Daywalt
The Detective Dog by Julia Donaldson
The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness
Grief is the Thing with Feathers by Max Porter
The Loney by Andrew Hurley
This Must Be the Place by Maggie O'Farrell
The Trouble with Goats and Sheep by Joanna Cannon
The Muse by Jessie Burton
The Green Road by Anne Enright
Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig
SPQR by Mary Beard
The Silk Roads by Peter Frankopan
When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanthi
Landmarks by Robert Macfarlane
It's All in Your Head by Suzanne O'Sullivan

Breakthrough Author*
Joanna Cannon; The Trouble with Goats and Sheep
Andrew Michael Hurley; The Loney
Lisa McInerney; The Glorious Heresies
Rowan Hisayo Buchanan; Harmless Like You
Amy Liptrot; The Outrun
Han Kang; The Vegetarian
Kit de Waal; My Name is Leon
Abi Elphinstone; The Shadow Keeper
*This award is specifically for the author rather than a specific title, but here are their associated titles
The five shortlists were chosen by booksellers across the UK & Ireland: Fiction, Non-Fiction, Biography & Autobiography, Children's and Breakthrough Author. The National Book Tokens Readers Choice Award voted by book lovers completes the set. Visit the National Book Tokens website and vote now to be entered into a prize draw to win one of ten £100 National Book Tokens to spend in your favourite bookshop.

Voting is now open and closes on 14th November 2016, with the winners announced in 24th November 2016.