The Booksellers Association of the United Kingdom & Ireland Limited

Nero Book Awards logo

Celebrating outstanding writing by great authors living in the UK and Ireland, the Nero Book Awards list the best books of the year.

Each year, our expert panel of judges will choose which books from the past 12 months they would most want to recommend to others for their quality writing and readability. From a shortlist of 16 unputdownable books, a winner will be named in each of the following four categories: Children’s Fiction, Debut Fiction, Fiction and Non-Fiction. An overall winner, given the Nero Gold Prize for the “Book of the Year”, will also be named.

Nero Gold Prize Book of the Year winner

The Bee Sting by Paul Murray

Nero Book Awards category winners

• Children’s Fiction
The Swifts by Beth Lincoln (Puffin). Illustrated by Claire Powell
  • • Debut Fiction
  •  Close to Home by Michael Magee (Hamish Hamilton)
  • • Fiction
  •  The Bee Sting by Paul Murray (Hamish Hamilton)
  • • Non-Fiction
  •  Strong Female Character by Fern Brady (Brazen)


Nero Book Awards 2023 shortlist

Children's Fiction Award shortlist
• Gwen and Art Are Not in Love by Lex Croucher (Bloomsbury YA)
• Bitterthorn by Kat Dunn (Andersen Press)
• Wild Song by Candy Gourlay (David Fickling)
• The Swifts by Beth Lincoln (Puffin). Illustrated by Claire Powell  

Debut Fiction Award shortlist 
• The Five Sorrowful Mysteries of Andy Africa by Stephen Buoro (Bloomsbury Circus)
• The New Life by Tom Crewe (Chatto & Windus)
• Sunburn by Chloe Michelle Howarth (VERVE Books)
• Close To Home by Michael Magee (Hamish Hamilton)  

Fiction Award shortlist
• Birnam Wood by Eleanor Catton (Granta)
• The Bee Sting by Paul Murray (Hamish Hamilton)
• Ordinary Human Failings by Megan Nolan (Jonathan Cape)
• Fifteen Wild Decembers by Karen Powell (Europa Editions)  

Non-Fiction Award shortlist
• Strong Female Character by Fern Brady (Brazen)
• The Tidal Year by Freya Bromley (Coronet)
• Undercurrent by Natasha Carthew (Coronet)
• Hags by Victoria Smith (Fleet)

Nero Book Awards key dates:
• Shortlist announcement:  21 November 2023
• Category winners announcement: 30 January 2024
• Book of the Year announcement: 14 March 2024 

However you take your coffee, whatever your taste in books, there will be something here for you – whether that’s discovering fantastic new writing by great authors, or hearing about the craft that goes into writing a great book, straight from the author’s mouth.

Established as a not-for-profit organisation, the Nero Book Awards are run by the independent, family-owned coffee house group, Caffè Nero in partnership with The Booksellers Association, Brunel University London and Right To Dream.

To hear the latest news, follow us on social media @nerobookawards, or look out for the Nero Book Awards badge on book covers when you’re browsing in a bookshop, a library or online, and know that this is a book that comes highly recommended by others for its outstanding writing and readability.

Visit the Nero Book Awards website for more information.

If you have any questions, please email: